Our Advisory Board

  • Home / Our Advisory Board

Our Advisory Board

The Initiative is Co-Chaired by the Former President of Nigeria and Chair of the Commonwealth Observer Group, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo and Baroness Flather who is a Member of the UK House of Lords).

Chief Olusegun Obasanjo

Chief Olusegun Obasanjo served as President of Nigeria from May 1999 to May 2007. It was the culmination of a life spent on the front line of African politics. In 2008 he was appointed by the United Nations as a special envoy for Africa and has since overseen democratic elections on behalf of the African Union and ECOWAS in countries across the continent. He has since emerged as an advocate for investment into Nigeria and tackling issues critical to advancing the African continent. He also currently chairs the commonwealth Observer Group.

Baroness Flather

Shreela Flather, Baroness Flather is a British-Indian politician, teacher and life peer. She has been a life peer for the Conservative party since the 11 June 1990 as Baroness Flather, of Windsor and Maidenhead in the Royal County of Berkshire. She was the first Asian woman to receive a peerage. Baroness Flather attended University College London and is married to Gary Denis Flather. She has served as Deputy Mayor and as Mayor for the Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead. She has served senior posts in various organisations involved in refugee, community, race relations and prison work.

Our Directors bring a vast range of experience to the task of governing the organisation.

Advisory Board Members
Dayo Israel is an executive board member of the Commonwealth Africa Initiative and a member of the British Council Global Changemakers
Joseph Hammond is the moderator and communications director of the Commonwealth Africa Initiative. He is the managing editor of New Africa Daily.